• 2022 Key art work by Benjamin Morgado-Cabuto

    • Dr. Jennifer Zaccara

    • Bob '37 and Beth Campbell Art Award Purchase Prize - Benjamin Morgado-Cabuto '22- "With Rain Comes Life"

    • Mr. Drew Choos, faculty speaker chosen by the Class of 2022

    • Ms. Amy Lanterman, Brodine Memorial Award recipient and Mr. Tim Velsor, Barbara Sweet Award recipient

2022 Baccalaureate

Students, their families, faculty and staff gathered in the Nita Choukas Theater on Sunday, May 22, to celebrate exemplary students from the class of 2022 with a series of awards.
Head of school Dr. Jennifer Zaccara welcomed everyone and invited the Vermont Academy Student Association (VASA) co-presidents Danielle McCarthy and Riley Walsh to the stage to introduce the faculty baccalaureate speaker who was chosen by the class. In her remarks, Danielle described the student-faculty relationship as one of the best parts of VA. Riley said the speaker was known as a teacher who “brings out the best in all of the students but makes sure that we always have fun.”  They went on to introduce the senior class dean, and math and history teacher Mr. Drew Choos. 

Mr. Choos recognized the many accomplishments of the class and then spoke about the future. Given the challenges of the pandemic, he said, “you might be the most well equipped class in history when it comes to handling change. Expect more change in the future.” He implored the students to avoid mediocrity and follow their hearts and intuition. 

Dr. Zaccara then recognized the 4-year seniors. Here are those who have been with us for their entire high school career:

Nolan Caruso
Mia Hennum
Kaylaya Hudziec-Leiva
Lexi Lamothe-Farwell
Casey Marchese
Daniel McCarthy
Elizabeth Pitts
Finnegan Scott
Lily Shlosser
Arya Tehrani
Riley Walsh
Dr. Zaccara then announced the salutatorian and valedictorian:
Salutatorian: Amalia Allen 
Valedictorian: Kim Perusa
Dr. Zaccara announced the class marshals. Each year two members of the junior class are selected to lead the class into graduation holding ceremonial key where a small portion has been painted by a member of the graduating class. The role of the class marshal is a distinct honor and a show of respect for the contributions and accomplishments of the designees. The class marshals that have been selected to march first, holding the key to the school, were Abigail Hawkins ‘23 and Alden Ormont '23.  

The member of the class who decorated the key was recognized. It has been a long-standing tradition at Vermont Academy for a member of the graduating class to be chosen to decorate the key to the school on behalf of their class. This year our chosen graduating artist was Benjamin Morgato-Cabuto.

Dr. Zaccara then introduced the 2022 Class Representatives. Each year members of the graduating class are selected as representatives and charged with communication, reunion planning, and alumni activity coordination. The Class representatives for the class of 2022 are Amalia Allen and Mia Hennum.

Dr. Zaccara then made her remarks, which can be found here

Mr. Dan Burmester presented the Fischer Drama Award, which is awarded to a member of the graduating class for his/her interest in and enthusiasm for the dramatic arts and has made the greatest contribution to the success of the dramatics program at VA. The award was given to Eliza Asante.

Ms. Ashley Storrow presented the O’Connor Music Award, which is presented annually to a Vermont Academy senior who has demonstrated excellence, dedication, and devotion to the art of music. He presented the award to Kim Perusa.

Mr. Tim Velsor presented the Frederic Stanley Art Award, which was established by Mrs. Frederic Stanley as a memorial to her late husband’s interest and achievement in art. Their sons are Vermont Academy alumni: Frederic, Jr., class of 1954 and Lee, class of 1961. In order to achieve this honor a student must show a strong work ethic, interest in learning and produce at a high level artistically. This year’s recipient was Evan Dos Santos.

Mr. Joe Echanis '79 presented the first Senior Scholar Athlete Award, which is presented to a member of the senior class who has made significant contributions to the athletic program and has a distinguished academic record. The award was presented to Ty Higgins.

Mr. Drew Choos presented the second Senior Scholar Athlete Award to Elizabeth Pitts .

Mr. Jerry Filler also presented the Brown Family Award, which is awarded to the individual who has overcome academic obstacles and preserved and excelled in athletics. The award was presented to Colby Casey.

Dr. Greg Martin presented the Samuel B. Pettengill Scholarship Award, which is awarded to a member of the graduating class who exemplifies high ideals of outstanding citizenship and academic excellence. Created in 1992 with funds from the estate of Samuel B. Pettengill ’04 and Helen M. Pettengill, the income is used for college scholarships for Vermont Academy seniors from Vermont families. This year the award was presented to Andrew Gould.

Mr. Russell Mayhew presented to H. Edmund Tripp Award, which is made to a member of the graduating class whose achievements in math during two or more years at VA have been outstanding and worthy of recognition. Ed “Beano” Tripp taught math at Vermont Academy for 39 years. He’s been described by former students as a deeply knowledgeable teacher who took joy in sharing his expertise with others. This year the award was presented to Andrew Gould.

Ms Christine Armiger presented the Hayes Environmental Prize Established in 1997 through the generosity of A. Reed Hayes III, class of 1964, previous chairman of the Vermont Academy board of trustees and creator of the Hayes Environmental and Outdoor Fund, the prize is given each year to the student who best exemplifies both an understanding for our need to exist in harmony with the natural environment and a commitment to act on this understanding. This year’s recipient was Benjamin Morgato-Cabuto.

Mr. Peter Ahlfeld presented the Amy Lanterman Learning Center Award, which is awarded to the student who exemplifies the educational values of kindness, perseverance, and sincere care for others embodied by long-term learning specialist Amy Lanterman. It was created and is given in honor of Mrs. Lanterman’s 25th year of service to Vermont Academy. This year the award was presented to Finn Scott.

Ms. Lisa Ekhardt McNealus ‘79 then presented the The Bob ’37 and Beth Campbell Art Purchase Award. In the interest of acquiring more art work for our alumni art collection, Vermont Academy uses this award to purchase a piece of art work each year from an artist in the senior class. This year’s recipient was Benjamin Morgato-Cabuto.

Mr. Joe Echanis '79 presented the Donald T. Brodine Memorial Award, which honors a faculty member who exhibits many of the characteristics of long-time Vermont Academy English teacher Donald Brodine -- one of the Academy’s most revered teachers. This year’s recipient was Ms. Amy Lanterman.

Dr. Jennifer Zaccara presented the Barbara Sweet Award, which is given annually to that full-time faculty or staff member within the Vermont Academy community who has served as an exemplary teacher, coach, advisor, dorm parent, and role model. The recipient of this award, as chosen by the graduating class, will have touched and significantly influenced the lives of all community members in all aspects of life here at Vermont Academy. This year’s recipient was Mr. Tim Velsor.

Photos can be found here

Education for Life - One Student at a Time

Vermont Academy is a coed college preparatory boarding and day school in southern Vermont, serving grades 9-12 plus a postgraduate year.