• Congratulations inductees!

    • Dominick A. Dawes ’99

    • Franklin H. Geist P ’84 (Special Contributor)

    • Shelby L. Johnson ’12

    • Patience A. Peterson ’00

    • Russell Williams (Special Contributor)

Announcing the 2022 Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

Vermont Academy honors those persons who have made outstanding contributions to the Vermont Academy athletic program with induction into the Vermont Academy Athletic Hall of Fame. This year we are pleased to induct three alumni – Dominick A. Dawes ’99, Shelby L. Johnson ’12, and Patience A. Peterson ’00 – and two special contributors – Franklin H. Geist P ’84 and Russell Williams – during Reunion on Saturday, June 4 at 2 p.m.
Read on to learn more about each of the 2022 Athletic Hall of Fame inductees.

Dominick A. Dawes ’99 
Dominick’s contributions to Vermont Academy’s ice hockey, baseball, cross country, and track teams were significant and culminated in his receiving the Daniel MacFayden Ice Hockey Award, which is given annually to the member of the boys’ varsity hockey team who has made the greatest contribution. Further, he went on to win the 2003 ice hockey national championship during his time at Norwich University and followed this with two seasons in the Southern Professional Hockey League. As a coach, he was ranked as the winningest coach in the history of the Neumann University ice hockey program, coaching his team to the 2009 NCAA Division III national championship, before taking the Stevenson University ice hockey program by storm. While at Stevenson, he was named the Mid-Atlantic Conference (MAC) coach of the year for the 2017-18 season and the Mid-Atlantic Conference (MAC) co-coach of the year for the 2019-20 season.

Franklin H. Geist P ’84 (Special Contributor)
During Franklin’s time as the cross-country coach at Vermont Academy, he took the team to new heights. In 1969, Vermont Academy’s cross-country team finished first out of 13 teams at the New England Prep School Class B Championship, and first out of 15 schools in 1970. As his nominator, Barry Wetherbee ’71 shared, “Coach Geist not only issued daily workouts to improve our physical ability, but he quietly instilled the ‘grit’ in us to accomplish our goals.” Franklin inspired generations of Vermont Academy students as a coach, faculty member, parent of an alum, volunteer timer for basketball games, and general supporter of Vermont Academy athletics. 

Shelby L. Johnson ’12 
A well-rounded and involved student while at Vermont Academy, Shelby received numerous awards, including the coveted Barrett Medal, but it was her prowess on the field and ice that captured the attention of the Athletic Hall of Fame Selection Committee. As a three-sport athlete and captain of her varsity teams, she won the Greatest Contribution Award for ice hockey, the Dorothy Sener Most Valuable Player Award for lacrosse, and made both the All-League and the All Lakes Region lacrosse teams. After graduating from Vermont Academy, Shelby went on to play hockey at Salve Regina before continuing her education and pursuing her Ph.D. at the University of Massachusetts Medical School – all while balancing her volunteer coaching commitments. Shelby’s commitment to encouraging the next generation of girls hockey players is admirable. 

Patience A. Peterson ’00 
Patience’s contributions and dedication to the girls’ varsity lacrosse team – which won the 2000 Lakes Region Championship – and the field hockey team were impressive. One member of the Athletic Hall of Fame Selection Committee shared that her “commitment to her teams meant she could often be found running sprints after practice or sharing her positive energy with the rest of the team.” Beyond her Vermont Academy athletic experience, Patience has continued to develop an appreciation for sport in a variety of ways. Whether as a D1 lacrosse player or a nationally ranked competitive weightlifter, her ongoing passion for competition stands out.  

Russell Williams (Special Contributor)
Russell’s years of service to Vermont Academy’s athletic program have been exemplary and the Athletic Hall of Fame Selection Committee is pleased to recognize all that he does to support Vermont Academy students and teams. As his nominator, Brianna Wood ’17 shared, “Russ has always been there for VA athletic programs throughout the years no matter what. He makes sure that every sport has everything they need before, during, and after the season has ended. Russ cares about the VA students and faculty and he is always there for them. He wants everyone to be successful in everything. While being at VA for four years Russ played a big factor in my athletic career and educational career. During my four years at VA, he was always there for me no matter what. Russ is more than just a coach or equipment manager, to me, he was another father figure in my life. I wouldn't be the person I am today without the impact Russ made in my life. I am forever thankful for Russ. He deserves to be in the Hall of Fame.” These sentiments are shared by many current and former Vermont Academy athletes.

Established in 1982, the Vermont Academy Athletic Hall of Fame recognizes and honors those persons who have made outstanding contributions to the Vermont Academy athletic program. While demonstrated prowess in athletics is the foundation for this honor, additional consideration may be given to other achievements as a student, demonstrating a spirit of fair play and integrity, and a commitment to an ongoing involvement with Vermont Academy. Alumni become eligible for induction into the Athletic Hall of Fame ten years after graduation. 

The Vermont Academy Athletic Hall of Fame Committee included Ted Chivers ’68,  Jim Frey ’66, Athletic Director Brain Gilloran, Dave Hodgson ’89, Director of Alumni Engagement Nicole Losavio, Brooke Mooney ’14, Tom Oxholm ’82, and Head of School Dr. Jennifer L. Zaccara. We wish to thank the committee for their diligence and thoughtful consideration throughout the selection process.

Education for Life - One Student at a Time

Vermont Academy is a coed college preparatory boarding and day school in southern Vermont, serving grades 9-12 plus a postgraduate year.